Posted by: futurevehicles | August 16, 2009

Letting it go: My attempts to get past the conceptual stage

Throughout my entire four years in this course, one reoccuring thing has always made its presence felt in every single one of my projects: My inability to remove myself from the conceptual stage of a project.

I feel incredibly content and comfortable during the concept stage of a project- it is a place where no idea is rejected and I have absolute control over everything. It is a splendid sensation that i find really hard to remove myself from. I compare it to never wanting a small kitten to grow up to a big, loathsome meatloaf of a cat. You want the kitten to keep making those small ‘meeeiiiiwwwww’ noises at the top of it’s little lungs. You want it to walk awkwardly and trip over its little paws so everyone in the family can laugh and go ‘AAWWWWWWW’. Sadly, the kitty will one day have to mature and you will have to spend a good portion of your life tending to a lion that is about as temperamental as Naomi Campbell after a few lines of coke.

I want this project to stay in the kitten-stage, but i now understand that it simply wont happen. BIG decisions have to be made and i will have to acknowledge the fact that my project will be snorting lines of coke at a rate quicker than that of Britney Spears.

The main thing that is holding me back from becoming the ‘realist’ is that i find my original dream slowly slipping away from me as the design process continues. I had this incredible vision at the end of last semester and now i am becoming increasingly worried that my dream will never come to fruition- at least not in the way i had intended it to.

Changes will have to be made to my original design intention- i get that- but how does a designer hold on to that dream or vision that motivated them so much in the beginning?

I guess we will find out in a few short weeks.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

