Posted by: futurevehicles | August 17, 2009

2009: A Leon Odyssey.

November 16th, 2009- A date that signifies my entry in to unchartered territory. That is the day that I finish my studies at RMIT and graduate in to something called ‘the Real World’. Metaphorically speaking, i’ve spent the past 4 years of my life in hibernation. Aside from the holiday breaks, I really have not seen much of the outside world other than the same walk to and from the train station every day. So what will happen when my obligations as a student pack up and disappear?

To be honest, I think i might cry for the first few days. Being a student means routine, responsibility and productivity- and despite the long hours, lack of sleep and the excessive blood, sweat and tears; I think that I might actually miss going to school.

November 16 is an important date because i know full well that the day after I will most likely be sitting on my arse in front of a computer looking for a job- ANY job. The prospects of employment in the design industry in this country are bleak to say the least; atleast thats what all of us students have been hearing from our lecturers. Regardless of what our lecturers say, it is safe to assume that employment in almost every industry is about as feasible as North Korea entering a team in the NFL.

Thats what scares me the most: the lack of security. At University, you’ve got your obligations, responsibilities and your place. As long as you pay the money, you are accepted and educated to the best of the school’s abilities. There is no immediate threat of being out of a job, no boss threatening to fire you if you dont do your work, and no monotony. You feel at home.

Leaving my den after four years of hibernation will prove to be a most challenging task- because there are hundreds of other design graduates in this state alone looking to do the same. I’ve pretty much given up on the idea of going in to the automotive industry, as I have come to accept that my skills simply are not applicable there.

So where do I sit?

If I cant get my foot in the door somewhere, then what hope do I have of been happy and successful? I could just do what everyone else does and apply for every design-related job that comes along, but i’m not sure that my skills are up to the level that the industry requires. I could take a chance and just wing it- but that would be cheating and i’d like to avoid it like I avoid swine flu.

I guess all one can do at this stage is hope for the best. I can finish these remaining 12 weeks with the knowledge that I have given it my all, and that I may end up graduating with honours. Whether that piece of paper saying that I graduated will result in a job for me is another matter entirely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

